Even Western Avenue runs out eventually

sojourn, as in the title of this blog, is a journey. And a journey has a start, various middle portions, some highs and lows, and then – inevitably – an end.

I am no longer living in Chicago. I am NOT done writing about it, not yet – but there will be an end, realistically some time in 2014. My writing on Chicago is almost entirely based on my own explorations and discoveries, and it’s impossible to continue without being out in the city, roaming its streets, savoring its details, uncovering its patterns.

From the EL

I promise to close things out on a high note, and I’ll almost certainly set up a new blog and take up writing on some new subject afterwards. Till then, I’ll be cleaning out a long list of Chicago topics I’ve wanted to write about, as best I can without being local.

Aw yeah

Stick around… there’s still plenty more to come.

11 thoughts on “Even Western Avenue runs out eventually

  1. Me too. You uncovered many interesting aspects of Chicago that were hiding in plain site, along streets I have driven many times. I really appreciate your hard work on this excellent blog.

  2. I agree! I wish I remembered how I stumbled upon your blog. Best of luck to you and can’t wait to see what you have in store, whatever it is, I know it will be great. You are an excellent writer with a wonderful point of view.

  3. Sadly I just found your blog today and really enjoyed the photos and posts. Love the mid century stuff. Best wishes.

  4. I have really enjoyed your excellent research, fine photography and appreciation for history and design. Are you able to leave the site up or archive it somewhere for ongoing access?

  5. Exactly what I was gonna say, “I agree! I wish I remembered how I stumbled upon your blog. Best of luck to you and can’t wait to see what you have in store, whatever it is, I know it will be great. You are an excellent writer with a wonderful point of view.”
    Thanks for all the great photos and facts and journeys!!!

  6. I have been a huge fan of your site and your insightful information. I feel like have taken a great course in Chicago architecture. I have learned a lot from your blog and wish you continued success.
    After I read some of the comments I was trying to remember how I found your blog and I am pretty sure it was a link on Lost Chicago.

Leave a Reply

