Mid-Century Suburbs, Part 2 – Oh, those fantastic doors!

I’ve been temporary debilitated by an eye problem; while I’m recovering, let me dig into the archives for some material I never got around to posting. First up: the long-ago threatened promised follow-up to my first post on Chicago’s inner-ring, Mid-Century Modern suburban buildings.

Mid-Century door

The 1950s and 1960s loved their geometry. Even the most ardent Mid-Century Mod hater must surely concede the awesomeness of the fantastic designs built into the doors of these otherwise common inner-suburban Chicago apartment buildings.

Mid-Century door

Mid-Century door

Mid-Century door

Mid-Century door

Mid-Century door

The builder vernacular in Chicago even had its own custom storm door style, shown here in shiny mirror-polished stainless steel, with two narrow side panels and a large central panel.

Mid-Century door

Variations would typically include geometric patterns on the narrow panels, or different shades of colored, textured plastic.

South suburb screen door

6 thoughts on “Mid-Century Suburbs, Part 2 – Oh, those fantastic doors!

  1. Those are great. I gotta go photograph some awesome MCM doors I recently noticed down in Evergreen Park. They’re unabashedly googie.

  2. Pingback: 6-Flats on South Harlem | A Chicago Sojourn

  3. I doo not evewn know thhe waay I finished uup righgt here, but I
    believrd thks pot was once good. I ddo nott recognise who you’re however cedtainly you’re going to
    a fmous blogger in thhe event you aren’t already. Cheers!

  4. Pingback: The Stripes Make It Go Faster | A Chicago Sojourn

  5. Wow! I’ve been observing this style for over 30 years and youv’e shown three examples I’ve never seen before! Perhaps they were localy produced.

  6. MY PARENTS HAD A HOME IN A CHICAGO SUBURB. THEY HAD STAINLESS STEEL STORM DOORS ON THE FRONT AND BACK DOOR. I LIVE IN TEXAS ALL I CAN FIND IS ALUMINUM AND THEY DO NOT LAST. DOYOU HAVE ANYONE IN THE DALLAS FORT WORTH AREA THAT SELLS YOUR DOORS. I LIVE OUTSIDE OF FORT WORTH

Leave a Reply

